Connecting Curious Dots

On the intersection of technology, culture, and everyday life: My semi-updated space to collect and link my thoughts about interesting things I spot.

Augmented Reality iPhone Virtual Pet

The folks at Georgia Tech's Augmented Environments Lab may enable iPhone owners to also be virtual puppy owners.  Reminicent of the popular Tamagotchi, you can feed him water, direct him to run, and even make him another furry playmate.  Aside from an evolution in graphic quality since the virtual pets of the late 90s, this pup also has one paw in the real world (StB tracker allowing moveable links to physical spaces).  


How much does the touchable interface and interaction with real world environments change/enhance player experience?  David Perry's TED talk gives some striking visual examples of the steep trajectory of both game graphics as well as game design that pushes emotional connections.

One comment on “Augmented Reality iPhone Virtual Pet

  1. Betty
    August 14, 2009

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.
    Betty
    http://adoptpet.info

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2008 by in Culture and New Media, Games, User Experience.
